update until 7 may! xD - Reisverslag uit Mpongwe, Zambia van Remco Hage - WaarBenJij.nu update until 7 may! xD - Reisverslag uit Mpongwe, Zambia van Remco Hage - WaarBenJij.nu

update until 7 may! xD

Door: remco hage

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Remco

08 Mei 2014 | Zambia, Mpongwe

Hey everyone! ;)

Here is another blog just to let you all know how it’s going xD Last week we were the entire week in Livingstone. It has been such a great time and I must say that I really loved it! Altough I really didn’t eat much due to my strange thinking xD I really noticed this week that I am overthinking everything. So if I’m going to eat something I always look for the most easiest thing that is easy to cook so it will always be good. But because of that thinking I feel sick and don’t feel hungry anymore xD but I will get over that. Tuesday we went with the bus to Livingstone. The trip was beautiful. We only saw nature the entire trip. Sometimes a small village or a couple of houses would show up and right after there was nature again! The bus was really luxury. We had got a drink and muffin from them, and there was lots of room and music all the time, so that was really good! Jollyboys, the backpackers hostel where we stayed, was also very luxury. There was an pool, bar, chill out zone and someone would clean the bathroom after every visit xD The last one was really cool. It was so clean that you almost could eat from the floor.
Thursday we went to the Victoria falls. It was really amazing!! We got really soaked. The water was really high due to the rain season and it’s the second biggest fall (as far as I know) in the world. So that combination was really amazing to experience. The only down part about it was that I couldn’t go rafting because of the high water. We saw some double rainbows but never seen rainbows as beautifull of colour as there.
Friday we went to Botswana. We did an safari there. 2 days and one night. It has been such an amazing thing to do!! I really do advise everyone to go there if possible! We saw the big five and lots of more animals. The first day we arrived at the border and I really was feeling sick. That was most probably due to the few amounts of food I ate. We got picked up in a boot and went over the river that separated Zambia from Botswana, Namibia and Zimbabwe. Then we got on a safari car and went for some breakfast. After that we had a boat safari where ‘the fun’ started xD xD It all started very quietly and we saw some impala’s and an elephant who was washing himself en swimming a little bit. Then we saw an crocodile laying at the riverside so went over there to shoot some pics. But between the riverside and the boat was a tree. So the driver wanted to drive around it. So when we got around the tree something went wrong and we got really stuck in the tree with the side of our boat. (our boat had two layers. About 20 people under and 20 people on top.) We were sitting on top when it happened. The was a branch that went from the left side of the boat almost entirely to the right side. The crocodile was still lying there just 5 meters from the boat. Luckily another smaller boat came and after we broke of an branch (and my father got bitten by an unknown insect, most probably just an ant) the other boat pushed us out. But just before we got out of the tree me and my dad saw a lizard who was about 1,5 meters long.  He could have just jumped into the boat but he was probably as amazed as we were. So that was a really cool starter. After that we saw some hippo’s, a giraffe and more elephants an impala’s. After the boat safari we went on a game drive where we saw the most beautiful animals from a very close distance. Elephants, giraffe’s lions impala’s, birds, antelopes and lots of more animals. The camp where we would sleep was right in the middle of the park so also right in the middle of all the animals xD We had an amazing time with all the others and had some delicious food that we could see because it was so dark that you had to use a lantern to see your neighbor.
At night I got awake because there was an elephant really close and was using his trumpet. Next morning we got to realize that he had walked only 3 meters behind our tents ;) next morning I can describe as one of the best mornings of my life. We saw so many beautiful things and I was sooo amazed by it! We got an call from another driver who saw an lion so we went to the placed where he spotted it. There was an male lion laying in the grass with one female lion. But because we couldn’t really see them we drove a little further where we saw two female lions with 5 ‘baby’s’. We stayed for an 15 minutes before one of the female lions stood up and walked into the fields. She had seen a buffel and wanted to hunt it. The buffalo was laying in the grass so she crawled behind him. But all of a sudden the buffalo noticed the lion, stood up, looked at him and ran away. So we went to the mother lion with the 5 cops. Because she was all alone now she decided to go into the fields, but to do that she had to cross the road. So she did that and the fun part was that we didn’t expect that so all of a sudden she walk to us, and crossed the road 2 meters from our vehicle. So I made some cool pictures xD.
Sunday we had to go back to Lusaka to get to the bus who would bring us to Mpongwe.
Monday we went in an very old bus (the gear wasn’t working correctly and the door didn’t close like it should anymore. The was a gap in the back and a big scratch in the side :0) to Mpongwe. We arrived at 13:30 at GCMF guesthouse where the Dutch volunteers were waiting for us. It is so nice here. The guesthouse is beautiful and everyone is very friendly. It was also really cool to see some dutch people again. (we are here with 13 Dutch people xD) We had some Nshima with chicken stew. That’s an typical Zambian food that is made from maisflower. It was delicious although I didn’t eat much  So I ate it again yesterday  Yesterday (Tuesday) I had a little day off because I was very tired because of all the traveling. I started to read a book and when I got up to get some water I realize that I already read about 150 pages ;)
Today we went to Yvonne. She came to pick us up and after we went for some groceries on the Mpongwe market we went to her place. That was a real happening xD first we had to take a minibus who normally would only be able to carry about 12 people. But they waited until the bus would be filled before departure xD sooo.. that took about a half hour :/ but when I say filled I mean really filled. I counted 19 people in the bus. On 3 seats the were 5 men sitting hahah  So we drove for about ten minutes and got off. Then we had to walk for about 40 minutes trough the bush. On our way we saw some typical Zambian grass-houses. We had to walk over a self-made branch bridge xD. It were 2 long branches with like 30 smaller branches laying on top of it in the other direction. So we had to be very careful because it was very unstable haha. When we came at yvonne’s grandparents home I became really silent. She lives there in a house witch is smaller than my bedroom…. I immediately felt really sick of anger. I was walking with a camera witch was probably more expensive than the house of her grandparents… But after a beautiful conversation with grandpa I felt the love and happiness they have. They don’t want / need all the richness. So it was an very interesting day.

I have to stop know because the blog is already longer than I intended xD There’s one small problem. Mpongwe had a lightning strike 8 weeks ago and now the internet is working in the whole Mpongwe region. So I have to upload this via an other way and that’s also why I won’t be able to write a lot of blogs. I intend to do one more next week and then one big one when I’m home or something like that. XD

So I won’t be reachable and wont be able to read any comment’s  Im sorry.

Speak you all very soon!!

  • 08 Mei 2014 - 19:51

    T Kitty:

    Anja, Rene en Remco Fijn dat jullie het fijn hebben een mooi verslag pas goed op jullie zelf en veel groeten en God's zegen van ons beide

  • 08 Mei 2014 - 21:42

    Chayenne:

    Aahh super leuk om te lezen ^^. Fijn dat je het leuk hebt om daar te zijn met je ouders en de andere mensen. En dat over het algemeen alles goed is gegaan is ook fijn om te lezen(:.ik wens jou en je ouders nog heel veel plezier en lol haha. Gods zegen en tot gauw,

    Groetjes Chayenne en familie x

  • 12 Mei 2014 - 15:47

    Geert:

    Geweldig weer Remco!
    Ik ben wel een tikkeltje jaloers dat jullie de hele big five hebben gezien!

    En het stukje over Yvonne beleefde ik van begin tot eind helemaal met je mee..
    Moeten na je terugkomst bij elkaar komen!

Tags: #zambia

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Remco

Hey! leuk dat je op mijn pagina terecht gekomen ben! xD Hier zal ik alles vertellen over mijn Zambia experience! xD dit zal in het engels gebeuren. versta je geen engels dan kopieer de tekst en vertaal het via deze site : translate.google.com. hierdoor zal je de grote lijnen wel begrijpen :) veel leesplezier!! Hey! nice that you visit my page! xD Here I will tell everzting about my Zambia experience. I hope you will like it! please leave comments and you can always contact me personally xD Remco Hage

Actief sinds 23 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 321
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9509

Voorgaande reizen:

27 April 2014 - 21 Mei 2014

zambia experience

Landen bezocht: